Site logo

The Huddersfield Giants are an English professional rugby league club from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, the birthplace of rugby league, who play in the Super League competition. They play their home games at the John Smiths Stadium which is shared with Huddersfield Town F.C.. Huddersfield is also one of the original twenty-two rugby clubs that formed the Northern Rugby Football Union in 1895, making them one of the world's first rugby league teams. The club was founded in 1895, although they are a continuation of the Huddersfield cricket and athletic club (HC&AC) who were founded in 1864.

They have won 7 Championships and 6 Challenge Cups, but did not win a major trophy between 1962 and gaining the 2013 League Leaders Shield after topping the table for the first time in 81 years.

The club, particularly amongst older supporters, is sometimes referred to as Fartown, after the area and the ground in Fartown, Huddersfield that was the club's home venue from 1878 to 1992. The club was known as Huddersfield Barracudas from 1984 to 1988 and Huddersfield-Sheffield Giants (after a merger with the original Sheffield Eagles) for the 2000 season.

The team plays in a distinctive strip of a claret shirt with thin gold hoops, claret shorts and claret and gold hooped socks. They have rivalries with Warrington, Leeds, Bradford, Halifax and Wakefield Trinity.